ECP suspends membership of 318 lawmakers

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) suspended membership of 318 lawmakers for not meeting the deadline to submit their assets details. A total of 70 MNAs, 12 senators, 115 Punjab MPAs, 60 MPAs from khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 40 Sindh MPAs and 21 from Balochistan were suspended by the ECP. Under the law, all the legislatures are required every year by December 31 to file the related documents. On non compliance, the ECP bars them for performing their duties as legislators.

Lawmakers whose membership was suspended include Pir Sabir Shah, Fawad Chaudhry, Farogh Naseem, Farrukh Habib, Birjees Tahir, Zartaj Gul, Amir Liaquat, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, Noorul Haq Qadri, Amir Kayani, Muhammad Ayub, Hasil Bizenjo, Taj Afridi and others.

Source: Geo