Turkey accuses five nations of forming ‘alliance of evil’

Turkey accused five nations of forming ‘alliance of evil’ after a joint declaration denouncing Ankara’s policies in the eastern Mediterranean and Libya. These countries include Greece, Cyprus, Egypt, France and the United Arab Emirates. Turkish Foreign Ministry spokesman Hami Aksoy said the five countries were pursuing regional chaos and instability in the eastern Mediterranean.  Also, sacrificing Libyans hope for democracy for the reckless aggression of dictators.

The foreign ministers of the five countries held a teleconference to discuss the situation in the eastern Mediterranean, where Turkey has been drilling for potential hydrocarbon deposits. According to Turkey the deal grants its economic rights of the east Mediterranean Sea and prevents any energy-related projects from moving forward without Ankara’s consent. Greece and Cyprus have protested the deal, saying it contravenes international law and infringes on their own rights in the area.

Source: Dawn